menieresmommy











{October 20, 2011}   “Help, I’m Dying and I Can’t Get Up.”

"I'm dying and i can't get up"

I slowly open my eyes.

What the hell?

My entire bedroom is spinning vertically.

Hard

Fast

My eyes are rapidly moving up and down, up and down.

I can’t control the movements.

I can’t focus.

My head feels like the world’s largest magnet is pulling and holding it down to the center of the earth.

I’m sweating.

My heart starts to beat like a drum.

I touch my husband on the shoulder to try to wake him up.

“What?” He says.

“I’m having a stroke, call 911”

This is it, I am dying.

My babies are sound asleep in their cozy beds while Mommy is dying in her bed.

My husband being the calm, cool and collected guy that he is says, “wait a minute, let’s Google this.”

OMG, I’m dying and my husband wants to GOOGLE?

“Okay now, what are the symptoms?”

“The room is spinning”

“My eyes are tracking uncontrollably.”

“I’m sweating.”

“Totally having a panic attack.”

“Head feels like a bowling ball.”

All I could do was close my eyes and rock back and forth in the fetal position.

Husband says, “looks like your having a vertigo attack.”

“What?” “Can’t be possible. I’ve had vertigo in the past, and this is NOT it.”

By this time, 30 minutes had gone by. 4:00 am now.

I slowly begin to feel a slight release of my tensed up muscles.

My eyes slowly stop the pacing and relax a bit.

I no longer felt the need to rock.

I slowly opened one eye.

Blurry but not spinning.

“Wait, I think I am feeling a little bit better”

Next thing I know,

alarm goes off at 6:15

Time to get lunches made,

kids dressed and ready for school.

I am fine now.

After doing a lot of Googling myself that day,

I think my husband was right.

I had a vertigo attack.

Everything I read says they are harmless.

Oh, well.

That was weird right?

Why does my body feel like it was run over by a train?

I didn’t find that anywhere on GOOGLE.

Happy spinning……xoa

Jennifer says:

Middle of the night Meniere’s attacks are the worst! They are so disorienting. I generally sleep with the tv on and the volume turned low so I can orient myself. My husband doesn’t mind because he could sleep through a bomb going off in our room.

I also have stiff muscles after a vertigo attack. Like you said, it’s from tensing up your muscles. And add vomiting and the stomach muscles hurt too.

Glad to hear that you have a supportive husband. It really helps!



abbey says:

wierd? how i get emotional when reading someone elses story. laughing while at the same time tears are running down my face…it is asthough i re-live my attack when i hear someone elses. ( love your humour in these situations ) lol thx for sharing 🙂



Got a lot more on the way Abbey….
Hope you keep reading.
xoa



Oh Jennifer, I’m only just beginning with the blog….. I have 2 years of trying to kick this things ass. Only it has kicked mine.
Hope you keep reading…..
Happy spinning.
xoa



Angelea says:

Hello! So happy to find your blog. Yes, I can relate to every word. I have 3 kids, too, and am 2+ years into Meniere’s, at least as far as the vertigo is concerned. The plugged ears and hearing loss started a few years before that. Anyway, looking forward to reading more from you! Misery loves company. 😉



A. J. says:

I’ve only had one major attack, in July. My life has never been the same since. Constant tinnitus, pressure, dizzy spells with eye focus problems. I go back to the neurotologist in a week. I was the same way but it started with tinnitus and hearing loss. I thought I was having a stroke too, and I work in healthcare! I’m a 26 (27 on the 12th) mom.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
